Thursday, 6. October 2005

Clarification of an earlier post
I have been contacted by a person whose name previously appeared in
an earlier post here on the subject of Hotmail abuse. This person is rightly concerned about the high Google placement of his name, apparently in relation to the topic of network abuse.
While I made it clear in a comment on that original post that I did not believe the person named in the WHOIS record for the domain
uknational-lott0.com was the real offender, in order to save him further embarrassment I have removed all personally identifiable information from that post.
For clarity, please note that in my opinion the person named in the WHOIS record for uknational-lott0.com is himself an innocent victim whose name and address have been misappropriated by whoever set up the domain in the first place.
It is also clear from the evidence in my original post that the motivation of this unknown third party was less than honourable.
I am glad to have been able to set the record straight but do urge the person named in WHOIS for uknational-lott0.com to contact the registrar and have the domain registration revoked as soon as possible.
NB: Your real problem is with Microsoft and the registrar who allowed your name to be abused in this way in the first place. As of today, that domain registration is still active and still names you as the registrant!
Category: Blogs and blogging
Technorati: Blogs and blogging