PermaLink More on Hotmail and Personal Addresses

Update 6 Oct 2005: The original of the WHOIS record quoted below names an innocent third party whose identity has been stolen by a person or persons unknown and used in a fraudulent domain registration. All personally identifiable information in this post has therefore been removed. Further brief discussion of this is here.

This post itself will stand as it records an important issue - the abuse of MSN/Hotmail Personal Addresses for fraudulent purposes.




Gentle reader - do me a favour and blog this if you can - I can't think of any other way to raise the profile of this rampant and unchecked abuse of a respected (ha!) network.

Wake up Microsoft - this will not do!


Following the reimplementation of my shiny new enhanced rules on our pristine D7 Domino Directory, I created a new rule:

When HELO contains hotmail.com AND Internet Domain does not contain hotmail.com move to Database spamtrap.nsf

This came out of a lengthy thread here the other day on the subject of Hotmail abuse. For non-Domino readers, "Internet Domain" in the context of Domino mail rules refers to the domain part of the RFC822 "From" field.

And what do we have sitting in the trap this morning?

Received: from hotmail.com ([65.54.186.68])
          by my.domino.host (Lotus Domino Release 7.0)
          with ESMTP id 2005090823492935-383 ;
          Thu, 8 Sep 2005 23:49:29 +0100 
Received: from mail pickup service by hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC;
		  Thu, 8 Sep 2005 15:49:12 -0700
Message-ID: <BAY16-F189B08395A1A9A10D8D7C8FD990[at]phx.gbl>
Received: from 192.116.94.171 by by16fd.bay16.hotmail.msn.com with HTTP;
		 Thu, 08 Sep 2005 22:49:11 GMT
X-Originating-IP: [192.116.94.171]
X-Originating-Email: [uklottery_winners[at]uknational-lott0.com]
X-Sender: uklottery_winners[at]uknational-lott0.com
From: "U.k National Lottery Co-ordinator" <uklottery_winners[at]uknational-lott0.com>
Subject: (U.K NATIONAL LOTTERY) WINNERS NOTIFICATION!!!
Date: Thu, 08 Sep 2005 22:49:11 +0000
Mime-Version: 1.0
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 08 Sep 2005 22:49:12.0304 (UTC) FILETIME=[87FEC700:01C5B4C7]
Content-Type: text/html; format=flowed

The originating IP belongs to Gilat Satcom in Israel. The domain uknational-lott0.com (yes, that is a numeric zero, not an O) has registration details:

> whois -h whois.crsnic.net uknational-lott0.com ...
Redirecting to MELBOURNE IT, LTD. D/B/A INTERNET NAMES WORLDWIDE

whois -h whois.melbourneit.com uknational-lott0.com ...

Domain Name.......... uknational-lott0.com
  Creation Date........ 2005-08-19
  Registration Date.... 2005-08-19
  Expiry Date.......... 2006-08-19
  Organisation Name.... [Removed - Probably bogus]
  Organisation Address. [Removed - Probably bogus]
  Organisation Address. 
  Organisation Address. [Removed - Probably bogus]
  Organisation Address. [Removed - Probably bogus]
  Organisation Address. [Removed - Probably bogus]
  Organisation Address. [Removed - Probably bogus]

Admin Name........... [Removed - Probably bogus]
  Admin Address........ [Removed - Probably bogus]
  Admin Address........ 
  Admin Address........ [Removed - Probably bogus]
  Admin Address........ [Removed - Probably bogus]
  Admin Address........ [Removed - Probably bogus]
  Admin Address........ [Removed - Probably bogus]
  Admin Email.......... lotto_notification[at]uknational-lott0.com
  Admin Phone.......... +1.[Removed - Probably bogus]
  Admin Fax............ 

Tech Name............ MSN NOC
  Tech Address......... One Microsoft Way
  Tech Address......... 
  Tech Address......... Redmond
  Tech Address......... 98052
  Tech Address......... WA
  Tech Address......... UNITED STATES
  Tech Email........... MSN-PA-TECH[at]msn.com
  Tech Phone........... +1.4258828080
  Tech Fax............. 
  Name Server.......... pdomns1.msn.com
  Name Server.......... pdomns2.msn.com

Yes, it's a Microsoft "Personal Address" - again!

Interestingly, it appears to be possible to get one of these Personal Addresses using the services of a variety of different registrars but name servers are always pdomns1.msn.com and pdomns2.msn.com and MX is always pamx1.hotmail.com.

Oh, and Microsoft ignores the abuse complaints.


See also:
An open letter to the Hotmail abuse department




Category: Spam miscellany
Technorati:

Comments :

1. Chris Linfoot09/09/2005 12:51:36


I wouldn't be surprised if the domain registration had been accomplished with fake/stolen credentials. In other words, whoever is at that [Removed - Probably bogus] address may not even be aware if it.




Unable to post a comment? Please read this for a possible explanation...
Add Manual Trackback
Please enter the details of the trackback post. Your trackback will not appear on the site until it has been verified. This won't be immediate, as trackbacks are validated on a scheduled basis. Be patient.











Search
Popular Categories
Monthly Archive
Other stuff
ClustrMaps
Contact Me
Meta
Proudly powered by IBM Lotus Domino 8 Proudly powered by IBM Lotus Domino 8

Subscribe to articles Subscribe to articles feed

Subscribe to comments Subscribe to comments feed

ROR info ROR info


My Amazon wish list Wishlist
Save XP
Sign the Save XP Petition Today!
Idea Jam
Planet Lotus
Dilbert