PermaLink SpamCop lists Gmail

Update 9 Nov 2005: See also Gmail, spam and blacklisting which explains the Gspam problem. If you arrived here from Wikipedia, that article may be more relevant.

Update 5 Oct 2005: See also GSpam? - Part 2 which examines the Gspam phenomenon more closely and also appeals for volunteers to supply samples.

Original article follows.



Oh dear. SpamCop is currently listing 64.233.162.202 (and possibly some others close by) in its DNSBL. *

whois -h whois.arin.net 64.233.162.202 ...

OrgName:    Google Inc. 
OrgID:      GOGL
Address:    1600 Amphitheatre Parkway
City:       Mountain View
StateProv:  CA
PostalCode: 94043
Country:    US

etc etc and

nslookup 64.233.162.202
Canonical name: zproxy.gmail.com
Addresses:
  64.233.162.202

According to SpamCop, "SpamCop users have reported [this] system as a source of spam less than 10 times in the past week" and "In the past 13.8 days, it has been listed 4 times for a total of 26 hours".

So, SpamCop users (I count myself among their number) are allegedly seeing plentiful spam from Gmail IPs, well enough to cause DNSBL listing anyway.

The thing is, despite the many thousands of spam samples trapped here, I still have only one sample of a spam ever originating in Gmail, originating at rproxy.gmail.com ([64.233.170.203]) - I reported it.

So where's mine? I want some too.

Or is there another explanation?

SpamCop recently begun implementing a new algorithm intended to minimise false listings by verifying bona fide mail hosts used by or belonging to SpamCop users. I have registered my own mail hosts there as well as the Gmail hosts so that if I receive a spam at my Gmail account, I can report via SpamCop which I sometimes do. So possibly:

  • Some SpamCop users have attempted to configure Gmail mailhosts and got it wrong, or
  • Some spammers have started to create convincing Gmail header forgeries and are spamming SpamCop users who have not yet implemented SpamCop mailhosts, or
  • Gmail has added new mail hosts that are not known to the SpamCop mailhosts system

  • ... or there really could be a Gspam problem...

Frankly I just don't buy that last one though. Could someone (anyone) show me a real Gspam sample or two?

If Julian or any SpamCop deputies are reading, you may want to look into that mail hosts hypothesis.

Finally, the addresses to whitelist (we have them whitelisted here) are 64.233.160.0/19.


* Thanks to Christopher Byrne for pointing this out.



See also:
Spam from Gmail
GSpam? - Part 2
Gmail, spam and blacklisting (this article explains the Gmail/Spamcop problem fully)




Category: GMail
Technorati:

Comments :

1. rose04/10/2005 22:06:20


You can add the following IPs to your whitelist as well.
72.14.204.0/207




2. Matheus Cavalieri17/03/2006 20:16:14


Gmail Blacklisted @ sorbs ... :(
Disgusting!

Address: 64.233.184.194
Record Created: Tue Dec 6 21:30:03 2005 GMT
Record Updated: Wed Mar 8 07:30:02 2006 GMT
Additional Information: Received: from wproxy.gmail.com (wproxy.gmail.com [64.233.184.194]) by send.it.helsinki.fi (8.13.3/8.13.3) with ESMTP id k27DrciT011814 for <[email]>; Tue, 7 Mar 2006 15:53:42 +0200 (EET)
Currently active and flagged to be published in DNS




Unable to post a comment? Please read this for a possible explanation...
Add Manual Trackback
Please enter the details of the trackback post. Your trackback will not appear on the site until it has been verified. This won't be immediate, as trackbacks are validated on a scheduled basis. Be patient.











Search
Popular Categories
Monthly Archive
Other stuff
ClustrMaps
Contact Me
Meta
Proudly powered by IBM Lotus Domino 8 Proudly powered by IBM Lotus Domino 8

Subscribe to articles Subscribe to articles feed

Subscribe to comments Subscribe to comments feed

ROR info ROR info


My Amazon wish list Wishlist


Wikio - Top Blogs - Technology
Like what I do?
Then please consider a donation to support the work of Research Autism.

Idea Jam
Planet Lotus
Dilbert